Think Happy Thoughts?

by anonymous

It’s very easy to put yourself down. You find any excuse there is to bring negativity onto yourself. What’s hard is picking yourself up, saying good things and being just a little more positive. Well, that’s how I feel, anyway. It just doesn’t feel right though, thinking good thoughts about myself. It feels unnatural – that’s the only word I can think of to describe the feeling. People are always telling me to change my mindset, to think positively, but it’s not quite as simple as that. Thinking positive thoughts seem almost fake; like it doesn’t mean anything, like I’m lying to myself. And so I’m stuck. I’m stuck thinking the same old awful thoughts I always have. They may not be nice or uplifting words, but at least they’re believable.

‘There is nothing in this world that can trouble you as much as your own thoughts.’

It’s a little depressing, but it’s true. For so long I’ve felt like my thoughts are holding me back in life. My pessimistic mindset prevents me from getting anywhere at all. I don’t know if it’s just an excuse, or if it’s actually true, but I believe I could be doing so much better if it weren’t for my negative way of thinking. It doesn’t matter whether I fail or succeed, the words in my head are always the same: I’m just not good enough. And honestly, I have no clue how to turn around and be someone with a little more optimism in my head. Maybe I need a little time, or a push in the right direction, or constant reminders, or something. Whatever it is, I haven’t figured it out just yet.

